Nakshatra Names in Kannada

In Vedic astrology, nakshatras (also known as lunar mansions) are the 27 segments of the ecliptic through which the moon travels during its orbit around the Earth. Each nakshatra is associated with a certain set of qualities and characteristics and is believed to have a significant influence on a person’s life and destiny.

This article provides a list of nakshatra names in Kannada language along with their English translations. Learning these lunar mansion names in Kannada can be helpful for those interested in astrology or for those who simply want to expand their Kannada vocabulary. If you’re interested in learning more about the Kannada language, you might also want to check out our list of rashi names in Kannada, relation names in Kannada, god names in Kannada, and navadurga names in Kannada, which provide translations for various categories in the language.

In Kannada culture, the names of the nakshatras are used to identify the lunar mansions and their associated qualities. Here is a list of the nakshatras in Kannada, along with their English translations:

List of Nakshatra Names in Kannada

  1. ಅಶ್ವಿನಿ (Ashwini) – “Horse Tamer”
  2. ಭರಣಿ (Bharani) – “Bearer”
  3. ಕೃತ್ತಿಕಾ (Krittika) – “Sharp”
  4. ರೋಹಿಣಿ (Rohini) – “Reddish One”
  5. ಮೃಗಶಿರ (Mrigashira) – “Deer Headed”
  6. ಆರ್ದ್ರ (Ardra) – “Moist”
  7. ಪುನರ್ವಸು (Punarvasu) – “Return of the Light”
  8. ಪುಷ್ಯ (Pushya) – “Nourishing”
  9. ಆಶ್ಲೇಷ (Ashlesha) – “Embrace”
  10. ಮಘ (Magha) – “Mighty”
  11. ಪೂರ್ವ ಫಾಲ್ಗುನಿ (Purva Phalguni) – “The Former Red One”
  12. ಉತ್ತರ ಫಾಲ್ಗುನಿ (Uttara Phalguni) – “The Latter Red One”
  13. ಹಸ್ತ (Hasta) – “Hand”
  14. ಚಿತ್ತ (Chitta) – “The Mind”
  15. ಸ್ವಾತಿ (Swati) – “Sword”
  16. ವಿಶಾಖ (Vishakha) – “Forked Branches”
  17. ಅನುರಾಧ (Anuradha) – “Subsequent Success”
  18. ಜ್ಯೇಷ್ಠ (Jyeshta) – “The Eldest”
  19. ಮೂಲ (Moola) – “The Root”
  20. ಪೂರ್ವಾಷಾಢ (Purva Ashadha) – “Early Victory”
  21. ಉತ್ತರಾಷಾಢ (Uttara Ashadha) – “Latter Victory”
  22. ಶ್ರವಣ (Shravana) – “Hearing”
  23. ಧನಿಷ್ಠ (Dhanishta) – “Wealthiest”
  24. ಶತಭಿಷ (Shatabhisha) – “Hundred Healers”
  25. ಪೂರ್ವ ಭಾದ್ರಪದ (Purva Bhadrapada) – “Former One with Lucky Feet”
  26. ಉತ್ತರ ಭಾದ್ರಪದ (Uttara Bhadrapada) – “Latter One with Lucky Feet”
  27. ರೇವತೀ (Revati) – “The Wealthy”

Each nakshatra is believed to have its own set of qualities, ruling deity, and symbol. For example, the nakshatra Ashwini is associated with speed, agility, and healing, and is ruled by the Ashwini Kumaras, the divine physicians of the gods. The symbol for Ashwini is a horse’s head.

Similarly, the nakshatra Rohini is associated with fertility, growth, and abundance, and is ruled by the god Brahma. The symbol for Rohini is a chariot.

In addition to their individual qualities, the nakshatras are also believed to influence a person’s life based on the position of the moon at the time of their birth. Vedic astrology uses the nakshatras as a key component in calculating a person’s horoscope and predicting their future.

In conclusion, the nakshatras are an important aspect of Vedic astrology and play a significant role in the Kannada culture. Understanding the names and associated qualities of each nakshatra can provide insights into a person’s personality and destiny, and can help guide decisions related to life events such as marriage, career, and travel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *